Introduction

I am often met with a perplexed gaze when I tell people what I do for a living. 

“I am a Rehabilitation Veterinarian!”, I respond in a passionate manner (because I LOVE my chosen career path) when I am asked how I pay for bread and other such commodities.

Thankfully, this response has not been met by such comments as, “Those poor Veterinarians, they work so hard.  It must be necessary to provide them with some sort of Rehab centre to help them sort out their problems!”

[Cymbals clash – *WARNING* the humour may actually get worse!]

Since Veterinary Physical Rehabilitation is such a relatively new field, with roots in both human Physical Therapy and Veterinary Medicine, I felt it necessary to offer a space (this blog), as an area to present some educational information regarding this special interest area.  I would have placed many of these articles on my website (www.equilibriumvrc.com), but found that my band-width was disappearing by the kilobyte, every-time I rambled on about a topic in Physical Rehabilitation (this happens!).  Plus, website management is such a fragile effort of HTML and ANSI that my human-resources person is tired of fixing my blunders every-time I go near the website editing page!

Hopefully, I will be able to add enough interesting articles to this site regarding general Wellness, Physical Rehabilitation, Traditional Chinese Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary News to keep many readers (clients and others), hopping back for more.  My intention is to invite others (Physiotherapists and PTA’s, Veterinarians and Vet Techs), within the fields of Veterinary and Physical Rehabilitation to submit articles of interest as well.

The first post shall deal with a very general and introductory topic that will read more like a philosophical interpretation of the state of Medicine (both Veterinary and Human), but it should give an understanding of The Spectrum of Disease (meaning – the evolution of disease patterns from subtle imbalances with fewer laboratory and diagnostic abnormalities, to advanced disease states with recognisable laboratory and diagnostic changes).   

Until next time.

Wisdom, Harmony and Spirit!

-Copyright 2009.  EVRC Ltd.  Do not reproduce without written permission from the author(s).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bridget says:

    Hi Shannon! I love your web site graphics , any thoughts on blogging ? I have a new horse client , bilat. stifle problems , pelvic ligament injury.
    Hope you are well

    1. Hello Bridget,

      Great to hear from you – and thank you for stopping by! Perhaps, we could contemplate co-authoring an article on pelvic issues! I shall give you a call shortly!

Leave a Reply

